#BEDA 5 – It’s About The Story You’ll Be Able to Tell

The last few days have been overwhelmingly filled with anticipation. For the first time in 8 years I’m going on a road trip.

That’s not to say I haven’t been on long car rides in that time. Upwards of 8 to 11 hours at a time. But none of them have felt like what Thursday will feel like. Also, if you didn’t already know, I don’t have a license to drive. Never thought I’d need one, so why waste my time?

I feel like I’m going on tour. Unlike many of my friends, I’m not a musician, so I don’t get to go on tour. Going on tour, seeing the country, discovering its little nooks and crannies, that’s what makes me so envious of them. I’d love to spend a year just wandering the globe: eating the food, getting lost along the way, talking to the locals.

This sounds like a very stereotypical dream. Everyone wants to see the world. Everyone loves to travel, to escape. But here’s why I’m different.

For me, it’s not about the escape. I’m not going to Chicago this weekend to escape my job. In fact, chances are I’ll probably write a few emails while on the road, but I’m not going to let it spoil the time. I have a pretty sweet deal here and I’m excited to come into work everyday. I don’t need diversions or escapes. What I want are the stories and surprises.

Aside from a few plot points I’m already expecting, I gave up on planning what I do on trips like this a long time ago. Why spend all of the time you’re going to be somewhere different with a long timeline of expectations. You’ll only be disappointed. Don’t believe me? Ask anyone who ate at The Upper Crust with me in Boston. That’s your best pizza? No wonder i don’t like your city.

The phrase “it’s the journey not the destination” isn’t even the half of it. It’s more like, it’s the story you’re going to be able to tell not the destination or the journey or the plan you made. I don’t go on trips, I make memories with the people I travel with. 

I have never been one to take anything for granted. I’ve always taken risks, done things I was told not to and questioned Everything and Everyone. I’m in love with the surprise, not the thrill. It’s probably why I don’t like roller coasters. Nine times out of ten, you know what to expect before you get on because the whole ride is architecturally sprawled out in some ginormous fashion outdoors. I was never a fan of being suspended upside down, so if I know that going in, my mind’s already made up.

I’m the queen of indecision who loves the last minute choice(and is usually right about the latter). This weekend I have no game plan and have no idea what to expect. The last time I was in Chicago I ate the best slice of pizza I’ve ever had, learned more about the character of people than I ever have on any trip, discovered the true meaning of brunch and made lifelong friends who live all over the world. (and English friends of course!) 

Sometimes when I’m in a city that’s not mine, I feel like I’m cheating everyone who lives there. Almost like I’m sticking my tongue out at them, pulling a face and yelling “You don’t know what you’re missing!” Everyone gets so bogged down in their day-to-day that they forget all the amazing things happening around them. That’s why I love New York. No matter how much they try to encroach on our islands, the tourists will never be able to stand up to our concrete jungle. Repeated trips are necessary if you dare to feel as if could conquer the city that never sleeps. Even then, the city is always constantly changing, evolving organically, that you can never really visit the same NY twice.

By this time tomorrow, I’ll be arriving in my first stop: Washington DC, then a quick rest in Virginia and then the open road. I’m looking forward to all of it: adventure, the unknown, the destination, but most of all, the time spent with the ones who know me best. My dearest friend Grace is at the helm and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

What are some of your travel loves? Tell me in the comments! And stay tuned for my blogs from the road!

This entry was posted in About Me, Blog News, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

